Are we becoming ambivalent to the typo?

I don’t want to come across like a cranky old man (spoiler alert:  I”m about to come across like a cranky old man), but I’m really starting to miss the good old days when a typographical error in print was incredibly rare.  Now, I see at least one per day, though not necessarily in print.  I see misspellings and horrible grammar mostly on-line.  The problem is that I’m noticing more and more in formal articles, even in banner ads, not just in blogs.  I’ve also recently seen glaring typos in job ads, on diner menus, and on websites.

Am I just getting old and bitter?  Is this a real degradation of our collective writing skills?  Or… is there just so much more content out there that the law of numbers will dictate more potential for error?Image P.S.  If you find a typo in this post, I will embrace the irony.

Leave a Reply

