Why Can’t I Ever Just be On Vacation?

surrey

Took a week off last week.  Ha!  I just old a lie.  Actually, I was “technically” on vacation.  I announced to my boss I was taking a week off.  My accumulated vacation days were accounted for.  Therefore, I must have been on vacation, right?  Not really.

As we do every year around this time, we rented a beach house in Cape May, NJ (sweet last minute deal!), packed up the kids, boarded the dog, and headed down the Garden State Parkway to exit 0.  It was a real family moment road trip – except that we had to take two cars because I had to leave a day before everyone else to go to a trade show in Baltimore.  So, I would up driving the in three hours in one car by myself while the family drove in another.

Aside from that…  being that I have been traveling a lot for work lately, I was really looking forward to catching up with everyone.  Yep, it was going to be 100% quality family time …. except for the conference calls I agreed to take, and the new product requirements reviews I needed to conduct, and the new strategic plan that needed to be updated.  Other than that… Oh, why bother!

The truth is, I can never REALLY be on vacation.  I am always thinking about work in some form or fashion.  Even when nothing is scheduled and I’m on vacation, work it at the forefront of my brain – never in the background.

I envy my wife.  She’s a college professor and when the semester is over, it’s over.  She really has a knack for killing that part of her brain and focusing on rest and relaxation.  That’s probably why she still looks she does when we first met nearly 30 years ago and I’m a mess.

Please tell me I’m not alone here…

Leave a Reply

