If your voicemail tells me I’ve reached you, it’s lying…

Here’s a tip: 

For your voice mail greeting, don’t say, “Hi you’ve reached <your name>.  Please leave a message and I’ll get back to you…”  Actually, I haven’t reached you.  If I reached you, I wouldn’t be talking to your voicemail.  I’d be talking to you.  Instead, be precise and say, “Hi you’ve reached the voice mail for <your name>.  I’m sorry I’m not able to take your call.  Leave a message…”

Isn’t that just more honest?

Leave a Reply

