Spelling Counts

As I surfed my LinkedIn news stories I got a chuckle out of a type-o in the headline of one of the lead stories.  I didn’t think much of it.  As I continued to scroll down the page, I came upon another headline with a type-o.  Hmmm.   I scrolled some more, and, yep, you guessed it, another type-o.  Note:  all of these gaffs were posted by large companies.

To be clear, I am not throwing stones from a glass house here.  I’m guilty of having missed a type-o or two in my time (tongue firmly in cheek), but I can’t help think the lack of regard for proof-reading is becoming epidemic.

Is it a lack of detail?  Is it the product of a need-to-get-my-post-out-as-quickly-as-possible mentality?  Am I on to something here, or am I just a grumpy old man?

Leave a Reply

